New Entries

  • Originally constructed as a pair of row houses in 1854, these two buildings were combined in 1923 as a funeral parlor for the Brooklyn Casket Co.1 The buildings were modified in a Gothic style, with a one-story brick and stone extension to the front of the property in stone and new lintels and parapet in the Perpendicular Gothic style.

  • Row of five 4-story Italianate row houses. #498-500 altered later.

  • Partnership of Frank V. Laspia and Lee Samenfeld. Did a lot of work in sourthern Brooklyn, Bensonhurst in particular, in the 1920s and 1930s. Responsible for many tapestry brick buildings and alterations of older buildings in the 1920s tapestry brick style.

Recent Articles

  • St. Peter Claver…
  • Domino Sugar…
  • Congregation Ahavas…
  • Engelhardt's…
  • Williamsburg Bridge…
  • Astral Oil Works
  • Sts. Peter and Paul…
  • Historic Street…
  • Gandar's…
  • Mechanics &…
  • Graham &…
  • Annunciation Church…